Easy A for Emma Stone

Before this movie, Emma Stone was recognized as the girl Jonah Hill wanted to get drunk and have sex with in Superbad. Is that a cheap shot at her or Hill? Before that she was pretty good in Zombieland, a movie that should’ve won an Oscar if their was a pretty good category. It was hard to tell if Stone would be something, though.

This was my judgment on Emma Stone before I spent my first beautiful, sunny day of summer inside watching Easy A inside, by myself. Two and a half times.

Easy A is unlike any other movie with Stone because she’s the actress in it. I really wanted to hate this movie but I stayed optimistic because of Stone. She made cringe-worthy scenes not so bad.

Her character, Olive, is sort of realistic. No other character in the movie is.

Her annoying best friend Rhiannon is the daughter of nudist-hippie-stoner parents. When Olive is invited over for dinner, she is offered a bong hit for dessert. That’s shit humor, but it somehow works when Olive replies with,

“No, thank you. I’m trying to watch my figure”

The way she delivers the line makes it work even though it shouldn’t work because it’s written poorly. How else should be evaluate actors then how believable they are? At the Noah Fish Acting School of Arts, Emma Stone is a very good actor.

Oh and, I like Easy A because it brings us a step closer to Clueless (but still far away) and a step further away from movies like John Tucker Must Die.

Easy A is The Scarlett Letter for a more recent and dumber generation. I’m assuming that’s how it was pitched in a room even if it was phrased like that, before it was ever written. People will perceive Easy A as witty and intelligent when it gets inspiration from a great novel.

The connection between the two is beat upon the head of the viewer like the dumb generation we are. We are forced upon thinking about symbols and themes in real life according to how they correlate with a book.

Overall, Easy A is efficacious and spreads hope in a thoughtless, dull genre. I think Easy A will be remembered as the movie Emma Stone became a movie star after.

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a comment